Dropbox Lied. End of Story.

For the past couple years, I’ve paid for a 50gb Dropbox account and actively promoted the service among friends and colleagues. Drobpbox has been extremely useful in managing some freelance projects I’m involved in. So when potential security issues surrounding Dropbox emerged back in April, I was concerned about just how private and secure the files I was sharing were.

Since April, there seems to be two basic schools of thought on Dropbox. The first is that Dropbox’s problems are really no big deal. That fact that employees of Dropbox can potentially access files are inherent to any synced system. On the other side are folks who have shut down their Dropbox accounts and forsworn the service forever.

Here’s what I take away from the debacle: Dropbox lied, both to me and to the other folks to whom I recommended their system. When I signed up for Dropbox, the service promised that all of my files were encrypted and that,

Dropbox employees aren’t able to access user files, and when troubleshooting an account they only have access to file metadata (filenames, file sizes, etc., not the file contents).

When the security concerns emerged, Dropbox weaseled out of the above promise by clarifying that Dropbox employees are, in fact, able to access user files, but they are typically not granted access to do so. As Dropbox put it in a response to this issue,

In our help article we state that Dropbox employees aren’t able to access user files. This is not an intentionally misleading statement — it is enforced by technical access controls on our backend storage infrastructure as well as strict policy prohibitions. The contents of a file will never be accessed by a Dropbox employee without the user’s permission. We can see, however, why people may have misinterpreted “Dropbox employees aren’t able to access user files” as a statement about how Dropbox uses encryption, so we will change this article to use the clearer “Dropbox employees are prohibited from accessing user files.”

Whether they intended to or not (and it is hard not to see the original statement as intentionally misleading), Dropbox lied about its security model. I and others took those assurances seriously and assumed our files were being encrypted client side.

Regardless of whether this or that feature or security option is a good or bad idea, the fact remains that I simply don’t trust Dropbox anymore. I have better things to do than worry about when/if Dropbox is going to have to release another “sorry, we didn’t mean to mislead you, but …” statement.

I already set my account up so it reverts to the basic free version once the renewal date hits later this summer. I’m moving everything out of Dropbox except for my Keepass file and any other files which are already encrypted, and for working with clients who are going to continue to use the service despite the security risks. I’m currently testing SpiderOak — which is like Dropbox but uses a client-side encryption model — for all my cloud-based file syncing needs.

Post Revisions:

Leave a Reply